RBC Canadian Open. Canadian Jared du Toit Looking Good.

White Dragon GolfRBC Canadian Open

Canadian amateur Jared du Toit is giving the home country some hope, looking good in second place at the RBC Canadian Open, to tournament leader Brandt Snedeker.

du Toit giving Canada hope

Jared du Toit / getty

Brandt leads the RBC Canadian Open, after three rounds  at Glen Abbey Golf Club, with a -9 under par total. Brandt posted a third round of -6 under par 66, to give himself a one shot going into the final round tomorrow, to try and repeat his win in this tournament from 2013;

“Birdieing five of your first six, you can’t really draw it up any better.”

 “I kind of had a lull there in the middle of the round, then finishing the way I did and taking advantage of the two par fives gave me a chance to go out there tomorrow and try to win this tournament again.”

“This gives me a lot of confidence going into the PGA Championship, FedExCup Playoffs, and helps me secure a Ryder Cup spot.”

 “There’s a lot on the line tomorrow, and I know what it entails and I need to go out and play well to secure that.”  

“I think I’m going to be the most hated man in Canada tomorrow.”

Jared, -2 under 70 today, shares second place with Dustin Johnson, -1 under 71, both at -8 under par for the three rounds played.

Jared  will try to become the first Canadian in more than 60 years to win his national open;

“I’m honestly just out here to have some fun and enjoy the atmosphere.”

 “Obviously I want to play well tomorrow, but it’s kind of my first go at it.”

“Win or lose, I’m happy with the way this week’s gone.”

Dustin took 27 putts today, not good compared to 23 and 26 in the previous rounds;

“The conditions were pretty difficult. It was windy. I had a hard time adjusting to the greens.”

 “I would either hit it too far or too short. I feel like I’m hitting good shots, but today, I just didn’t make any putts.

“I feel like I’m playing pretty well, got a lot of confidence in my golf swing right now.”

 “I just need to go out and make some birdies early and put some numbers on the board.” 

Low round of the day went to Steve Wheatcroft, -8 under par 64, to be T4 at -7 under;

“I know I’ve been playing very well lately.”

 “By swinging the club great, I went out there and tried to do my best.”

 

Leave a Reply

