The Senior Open Championship. Paul Broardhurst Carnoustie Champion.

White Dragon Golf

England’s Paul Broardhurst was crowned king of Carnoustie as he claimed victory in The Senior Open Championship.

 

The Senior Open Championship

Paul Broadhurst / getty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ENG Paul carded a final round -4 under par 68 at Carnoustie to post a winning total in The Senior Open Championship of -11 under par, to collect  veterans’ version of the Claret Jug.

Paul said the win was the biggest achievement of his life, and also puts him as No.1 on the European Senior Tour Order of Merit;

““It’s difficult to compare this with the Ryder Cup but, personally, this is the biggest achievement of my career.”

“Yes, the Ryder Cup was massive but that was the result of a load of performances.”

“It was an accumulation of points that got me there. I think this has got to rank higher than the Ryder Cup.”

“This is bigger than all of those wins, I think,.

 “A lot, lot bigger. It’s absolutely massive. I played some of my best golf this week. I hit the ball really nicely and my iron play was really good. The hard work I’ve put in paid off.”

“It’s beyond my wildest dreams. This sort of thing doesn’t happen to players like me normally. I feel very privileged to have won this event.”

“Now I plan to defend my Scottish Senior Open title back here in Scotland and whatever happens I won’t desert Europe.”

“I want to play a schedule which will take in America and Europe. It’s my home and I want to support the events here.”

USA American Scott McCarron finished in second place, at -9 under par, a last round -3 under par 69 giving him that place on his own.

Leader at the start of play today, ESP Miguel Angel Jiménez, from Spain, shared third place with Swede SWE Magnus Persson Atlevi, both  a further shot back at -8 under.

Miguel tried to respond to the challenge on the final hole, but made an uncharacteristic mess of it;

“At the last hole I knew I had to try to get the ball close to the hole but thinned it and made a double bogey.”

Leave a Reply

