UL International Crown. Team USA Capture the Crown.

White Dragon Golfuic_logo_188x84

 

Team USA capture the UL International Crown, despite losing both of their opening round four-ball matches on Thursday.

UL International Crown

Team USA / getty

Left to right the winning TEAM USA, Lexi Thompson, Cristie Kerr, Stacy Lewis and Gerina Piller with the trophy at Merit Club in Chicago.

Stacy spoke for her happy team;

“We stuck to our game plan, we knew not to change our pairings.”

“We knew that we were playing good golf, and when those pairings came out this morning, I liked the way we were positioned, and Gerina and I went out there getting points early was huge, and we got Kerr through, so we got a crown.”

“It’s awesome, I haven’t done what I wanted in Solheims on Sundays, and this is not quite as much pressure, but my team pulled me out here for a reason, to go get a point, or two points, I guess, and I’m just happy we could get two points on the board.”

Cristie put the winning points on the leaderboard

“I had a feeling last night if we all played really well and things fell into place that my match could be huge.”

 “But I just kind of got oblivious to all of that today because it’s just so hard to figure out who’s making points, who’s winning, who’s losing, and I just tried to take care of my match.”

“I didn’t know that it had come down to me winning that match that we had won until Stacy told me.”

The American ladies posted 12 points overall, beating Team Korea by just one shot, leaving them in second place at with an 11 point total.

The LPGA have announced  that Jack Nicklaus Golf Club in Korea will be the host course for the 2018 UL International Crown.

Team Korea captain So Yeon Ryu thought they could win here, but is looking forward to being on home soil next time around;

“I was expecting we’re going to win the tournament, and I just wanted to bring more excitement to 2018 UL International Crown in Korea, but we couldn’t.”

 “But I think it’s going to feel really awesome to represent my country in my motherland.”

England and Taipei tied for third place with 11 points in total.

Leave a Reply

