PGA Championship. Jimmy Walker Leads

White Dragon Golf

Jimmy Walker leads the PGA Championship after the first round at Baltusrol Golf Club.

Jimmy Walker currently stands 29th in the Ryder Cup standings and needs a big week to move into a spot. (Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)

Jimmy Walker / getty

Jimmy shot a PGA Championship -5 under par 65 to top the leaderboard at Baltusrol Golf Club, and spoke about his strange year, and poor putting;

“It’s just ebbs and flows of golf. Just haven’t been scoring.”

 “Just a lot of even par to a couple under golf, and it’s equated to a bunch of 20th-place finishes this year.”

“They just haven’t been going in, for whatever reason, they just haven’t.”

“I hit a lot of good putts and they all look like they have got a good shot. For whatever reason, they lip out or quit breaking. I just haven’t been making a whole lot.”

“I felt like personally, I did a lot of things right, and that’s what I’ve been kind of looking to do that I haven’t been doing.”

“So I felt like I was ready to go, I honestly did this week.”

Three players are tied in second place at -4 under par following their opening rounds of 66; Emiliano Grillo, Ross Fisher and Martin Kaymer are keeping the pressure on the leader.

Not applying any pressure was Rory McIlroy, carding +4 over 74 in a major meltdown, with poor putting the main reason;

“I feel like if I had held one of those first two, it might have been a different story of the day.”

 “You get a little bit of momentum and you get it going.”

“But then I missed a couple of greens and did not get up and down and I was always chasing it.”

“I need to figure it out, I’m driving the ball as well as I have, ever and the iron play feels good.”

“The problems begin when I get to the green. I really struggled with the pace. They look much quicker than they are and two or three times I had putts within 12 feet that were downhill and left them short.”

“I need to be more aggressive with my stroke and shoot something in the mid-60s and get into the weekend.”

“Hopefully I’m not shut-out tomorrow. I can’t remember the last time I had a round without a birdie.”

 

Leave a Reply

