Ricoh Women’s British Open. Mirim Lee Leads 1st Round.

White Dragon GolfRicoh Bristish Women's Open

 

Mirim Lee, from South Korea, leads  the Ricoh Women’s British Open, after the 1st round at Woburn Golf Club, in England.

Ricoh Women's British Open

Mirim Lee / getty

Mirim carded a stunning first round -10 under par 62 in the Ricoh Women’s British Open, and will take a comfortable three shot lead into the second round tomorrow;

“It was probably one of my best ever rounds, although I still had some errant shots.”

“I played every hole in a similar fashion, hitting fairways and greens. My best ever score was an 11 under par in LPGA Qualifying.”

Ariya Jutanugarn, from Thailand, holds second place with her respectable opening effort of -7 under par 65.

Shanshan Feng is third, the returning injured player from China had a first round -6 under par 66.

Leading home based player is Charlie Hull, -3 under 69, and T11.

Charlie is also a member of Woburn, since she was eleven years old, and knows the Marquess Course well, but that knowledge is over the long course, today the tee’s were moved up, a strange occurrence for a Major Championship. The layout for the first round  was 6,448 yards, though officials had the option to push the tees back to 6,744 or longer;

“I get a bit confused, like where to pitch it, because I’m used to coming in with long clubs, and I know what I’m doing,”

 “It’s a completely different golf course.”

“I usually play off the blues, with my friends, so sometimes I come in with five and four irons and stuff.”

“I like it when it plays long, to be honest.”

“The first tee shot today was probably the most nervous I’ve ever been on a golf course, and I never usually get nervous, it was quite weird.”

“It’s quite an easy tee shot, but I didn’t want to mess it up and make myself look even more silly.”

“It was nice to start with a birdie, as well, and I’m pretty happy with myself because I was pretty nervous on that first tee.”

 “I said to my caddie, I need to make a couple of birdies coming in, and I did.”

Making a mess of the short course was World number one Lydia Ko, recording a first round +2 over par 74, and is now twelve shots off the lead, and really no chance of catching up. The cut is currently projected at even par, so Lydia will have to play well tomorrow, and get some putts to drop, to avoid the embarrassment of a missed cut;

“Nothing was really that great. My short game wasn’t that great to cover up for the missed shots and when I did hit it close, the putts didn’t go in.”

“When that’s the case, you’re not going to shoot a low score. But hopefully a few more putts drop tomorrow.”

“I’ve just got to stay positive. There’s still a lot of golf to be played, and just hit one shot at a time.”

“It’s not an easy course but by the looks of it, it’s playing easy for a couple of the girls. But it’s because they are playing great.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

