PGA Championship. Two Tied at the Top

White Dragon GolfThere are two players tied at the top of the PGA Championship after 36 holes at  Baltusrol Golf Club,

Jimmy Walker and Robert Streb.

Robert Streb /GettyPGA Championship

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jimmy stayed on top of the PGA Championship leaderboard, carding -4 under par 66 today, but he has been joined by Robert Streb, who scored a magnificent -7 under par 63. Both players have -9 under par tournament scores for the 36 holes.

Robert was pleased with his round, and to be part of the 63 club in Majors;

“It was a great round. I’m happy to be a part of that 63 club.”

“I’m sure it will be busy, Saturday at a PGA, but I’ll just try to stick to what I’m doing.”

“Try to do the same things we’ve been doing the last couple of days and hopefully it’s good enough.”

“I’ll just try not to get too hung up in what’s going on and try to stick to the golf and see if I can have a little fun while I’m at it.”

Jimmy was also pleased with his round today, and was fresh enough to go out again;

“I was excited to go play today, I really was. I was nervous but excited. I’m real happy with today.”

“I felt like I could go out and shoot another good score.”

 “I saw what the weather was going to do and knew that it was going to be out there to play good.”

“If you hit the shots, you knew it was going to be there for you to make some birdies.”

World number one Jason Day, -5 under par 65 today, shares third place with Emiliano Grillo, -3 under 67, both of them with -7 under par totals, just two shots off the pace.

Jason carded a double bogey 6 at the par four 7th hole, and needed to get himself fired up again;

“I gave myself a little kick in the bum.  A few swear words inside my head.”

“Just really I played that hole so bad that it was really frustrating for me.”

“Why are you doing that? Why are you giving shots to the field when you don’t need to do that?”

 “Don’t do little silly errors like that and potentially give them two shots on that hole.”

Two big names that are headed home early after missing the cut, Dustin Johnson and Rory McIlroy, not much to say except that they were just not good enough.

 

 

Leave a Reply

