Ricoh Women’s British Open. Mirim Lee Keeps Lead.

White Dragon GolfRicoh Bristish Women's Open

Mirim Lee keeps the lead after 36 holes of the Ricoh Women’s British Open at Woburn Golf Club.

Ricoh Women's British Open

Mirim Lee / getty

KOR Mirim only managed a -1 under par 71 today, but it was still good enough to keep her on top of the Ricoh Women’s British Open, by just one shot over the field at -11 under par;

“I felt a little bit of nervousness but after a couple of holes I forgot about it.”

“I think a little bit of nervousness is what makes you play well.”

Sharing second place at -10 under for the tournament are CHN Shanshan Feng, -4 under 68 today, and .THA Ariya Jutanugarn with -3 under 69.

Shanshan, who was  the first Major winner from mainland China said her performance made lunch taste so much better;

“I started the round really hot today. I mean, I had four birdies in the first seven holes, and I was 5-under through ten.”

“I made a couple bogeys maybe in the middle there, misjudging about the wind.”

“But the birdie on the last hole made me really happy, so made the lunch feel better I think.”

Ariya has developed a pre-shot routine that helps her focus, and control her game;

“I think I learned how to play under pressure, how to play, really excited, I know how to play.”

“I really want to focus on what I’m doing and what I can control,” 

Catriona Matthew, with the low round of the day -7 under par 65,  who will represent Team GB in the Rio Olympic Games, is tied in fourth place, at -9 under par with Ha Na Jang -5 under 67 in the second round.

Catriona, was happy to post one of her best rounds ever;

“That’s probably one of the best rounds I’ve played.”

“I think I hit 18 greens today.”

“Just one awful shot on 16 but then followed it probably with my best shot of the day, the 4-iron on to the green.”

“Gave myself a lot of chances and holed my fair share of them today.”

Charley Hull is England’s best placed player, carding -2 under 70 today which puts her in a tie for 10th place at -5 under par;

“I didn’t get up-and-down a couple times today, just because I’m so used to this golf course playing so soft from the greens sometimes.”

“So when I’m chipping, I’m pitching it way too far, even though I know it’s bouncy, it’s just in my head, because you’re used to pitching at the pins.”

“It’s definitely good being in a good position going into the weekend.”

World number one Lydia Ko rallied well enough to make the cut at even par for the tournament, with -2 under 70 today;

“I feel like the scores are pretty low, considering what the course setups are like.”

 “I don’t feel like it’s this easy.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

