Ricoh Women’s British Open. Ariya Jutanugarn Wins.

White Dragon GolfRicoh Bristish Women's Open

 

 

Ariya Jutanugarn of Thailand wins the Ricoh Women’s British Open.

Ricoh Women's British Open

Ariya Jutanugarn / getty

 

Ariya carded a final round of even par 72 to win the Ricoh Women’s British Open at Woburn Golf Club, with a -16 under par tournament total, giving her a three shot victory. She also becomes the first Thai lady to win a Major, and hopes it will inspire others to follow her example. I am sure Ariya will add more Major titles to her CV.

Ariya had her poor moments on the course,  dropping her first shot of the day at the par four, ninth hole, and followed that with  a double bogey 6 at the par four, 13th. Winning from previous 54 hole leads helped Ariya to come through today;

“I think I got mad after that hole.”

 “My caddie helped me a lot. He tried to calm me down, slow me down.”

“And after I make double, my fairway iron so good.  I have more confidence because I commit and it come out really good.”

“Before today, I think it’s helped me a lot, but after ANA, I’m still really nervous.”

 “But I’m pretty sure I learned a lot from that, also, because like after I feel nervous, I know what I have to do.”

“Like last few holes, I tried to be patient and to commit to my shots.”

“It was really hard, I missed a lot of putts today.”

“I think it is really important for me and Thai golfers. I want to win majors, and I hope it inspires golfers in Thailand.”

Mirim Lee, -1 under 71 today, finished tied second at 13-under par along with Mo Martin, -2 under 70 for her last round.

Mo thinks her ancestors may have given her inspiration;

“I’ve done a little bit research into my lineage, and I’ve got a little bit of English genes in me so maybe my ancestors are looking out for me.”

Stacy Lewis was in fourth place at 11-under par, she too carded -2 under 70 in the final round.

 

Leave a Reply

