Travelers Championship. Three Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfTravelers logo

 

 

There are three players tied at the top of the Travelers Championship leaderboard after the first round at TPC River Highlands.

Vaughn Taylor, Andrew Loupe and Jerry Kelly share top spot at -6 under par.

Travelers Championship

Jery Kelly / getty

Jerry, Andrew and Vaughn all carded -6 under par 64 to share the top spot on the Travelers Championship leaderboard.

Vaughn said he played well but the putts would not drop;

“I played good early, just couldn’t get the putts to go. Just didn’t hit it quite close enough really.”

“I was playing well and just needed something to kind of get me going.”

“That was a nice little run and I needed that.”

“I’ve had to work on my swing a little bit. And putting and chipping. A little bit of everything.”

” That’s golf. Just when you think you got it, you kind of got reassess. It’s good this week. Played well last week. Hopefully keep moving.”

Jerry does not suffer the same crowd reaction as the likes of Bubba Watson;

“I’m not that man who has people constantly yelling wherever I go.”

 “I kind of take those good vibes and run with it. It’s fun.”

“Canada was the first week that I really played with this swing, I really feel comfortable with what I’m doing right now. “

“Every once in a while you get a golfer who says, Oh, if I had a time machine. If I could go back.”

“I feel like I just learned how to swing the golf club. I’ve said that a whole bunch of times during my career.”

“I would like this one to last a little bit longer. Being a feel player, all those feels tend to wear out with me.”

“I feel like I’m mechanically much better than I ever have been. I’m hitting much better shots than I ever have, and I don’t feel like I am as much of a timing striker.”

Jon is relishing the invites he is getting to tournaments, and also spoke about the good experience ha gained from the Canadian Open;

“It’s obviously great to be able to get unlimited invites.”

 “It’s unfortunate that it’s so late in the year and there are only three tournaments left.”

“Overall, pretty balanced day. I will say five under is, I mean, even if it was big difference between the nines, a pretty balanced score.”

“I was leading after two days, and on the weekend I did everything a little bit faster.”

 “I started walking fast, my routine was faster, my swing was faster.”

“That’s probably why I couldn’t hit the driver the way I did the first two days at Congressional. So that’s something I learned that day and I put in play in Canada.”

Ben Martin, Marc Leishman and Jon Rahm share fourth place at -5 under par.

Leave a Reply

