Aberdeen Asset Management Paul Lawrie Match Play. 36 Holes In A Day.

White Dragon Golf

They played 36 holes, the second and third rounds of the Aberdeen Asset Management Paul Lawrie Match Play on Friday. The sponsors wanted to make sure the tournament finished on Saturday as the weather forecast was bad for Sunday.

Aberdeen Asset Management Paul Lawrie Matchplay - Day Two : News Photo

Alex Noren 

Looking good is Scottish Open champion Alex Noren, he said it was a tough day;

“Match play is tough. I’ve played three good matches and I just need a lot of rest now because I can feel it in my head, it’s been a long day.”

“This match play, I think takes a little bit more out of you.”

“At the end, it feels like I’ve been here before and I like being there. I’d rather win earlier, of course, but it’s really nice.”

Another player feeling comfortable, especially when his putter is working, is James Morrison, who has made it to the last eight;

Aberdeen Asset Management Paul Lawrie Matchplay - Day Two : News Photo

“When I got here, I just loved the look of the golf course and for me, my confidence grows pretty quickly the minute I get my backswing in good position.”

“I can go off and running. I’m putting it well, hitting it great. I’m very, very happy.”

Top seed Chris Wood lost  to Daniel Brooks in the last 32, and number three seed Matthew Fitzpatrick went down to Alejandro Cañizares in the last 16.both players being eliminated of a tough Friday.

The last eight matches are;

Max Kieffer v Oliver Fisher

Anthony Wall v Haydn Porteous

James Morrison v Alejandro Cañizares

Alex Noren v Johan Carlsson

 

Leave a Reply

