John Deere Classic. Ryan Moore Wins.

White Dragon GolfJohn Deere Classic

Ryan Moore wins the John Deere Classic at TPC Deere Run.

Moore cruises to victory

Ryan Moore / Getty

A -4 under par 67 final round was good enough to give Ryan Moore victory at the John Deere Classic with a -22 under par tournament total, a two shot winning margin;

Ryan put his victory down to caddie J.J. Jakovac, he had not played the tournament since 2009;

“In that two-year break is when I hired J.J.  right after that, a couple years I had not played, and he kind of said to me like, ‘Man, I think that’s a really good tournament for you, in his experience of being here.”

 “I kind of thought about it, you know what, you’re probably right.’So we put it back in the schedule.”

“It was great to have another perspective, he’s a great golfer himself and has a really good understanding of tournament golf.”

“He was a great tournament golfer in college and amateur golf.”

“I played so steady the whole week, but to say at any point today I was comfortable would not be true.”

“I know I got a four- or five-shot lead or something at some point. I actually wasn’t paying attention to that at all, but someone said that afterwards.”

“I like that my body is feeling good this time of year, instead of the other way around.”

“I’ve been in the top 30 going into the Playoffs or in the 30s the last few years, and I haven’t made it to the TOUR Championship.”

“I’ve kind of plateaued a couple weeks before and haven’t played great going into them.”

“That’s a huge victory for me to just feel good.”

“I want to keep getting better. I think I can accomplish great things in this game and I keep trying to make the decisions to help me do that.”

Ben Martin was in second place at -20 under par, a last round -3 under 68 not quite good enough to put any pressure on the leader, he spoke about his FedExCup standing and how his putting made him feel good;

“I came into this week at 121, so I really needed to have a good week to take pressure off next week.”

 “I felt Thursday out there, ‘Man, this is the best I’ve felt all year, standing over the ball, over putts.’ I like the course next week.”

“Hopefully take a little momentum into the Wyndham, and then two weeks from now, the points, four times what they normally are.”

“So my best golf, I feel is coming, and this could be the start of a good run.”

“I was back and forth on the front nine, never got a whole lot going.”

“I think that hitting it tight on 12, and then rolled a good one in on 13, knocked it close again on 14.”

“unfortunately just never gave myself great opportunities on the way in. But yeah, I was happy to be able to bounce back there on the back nine.”

Sharing third place at -17 under par were Whee Kim, -4 under 67 today and Morgan Hoffman who stumbled to a last round of even par 71.

 

Leave a Reply

