U.S. Senior Open. Gene Sauers Wins.

White Dragon GolfUS Senior OPen

Gene Sauers wins the U.S. Senior Open, on the Monday finish, his first Senior Tour win,

 

U.S. Seniors Open

Gene Sauers / getty

Ten years ago Gene was incorrectly diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis, it has taken a long while to battle back to fitness, so this win is especially special. The win came at a dramatic last hole, where Gene sunk a par putt for a round of -1 under par 69 and a winning U.S. Senior Open total of -3 under par, and a one shot victory;

“It hasn’t sunk in yet, it’s been a long time, and I’m at a loss for words right now.”

“It means the world to me, I saw the light at the end of that tunnel, and I was heading there.”

“The good Lord stopped me and backed me up and said, no, you’re not done yet.”

“It’s just unbelievable to not play golf, not touch a golf club for seven years and to come out and to win a major golf tournament on a hard golf course.”

“Being back to playing with these guys, it’s a pleasure, I didn’t think I’d ever be here.”

“I told my wife, when I was in the hospital, I didn’t think I was ever coming out. She kept me strong.”

Sharing second place were Billy Mayfair and Miguel Angel Jimenez, both with -2 under par totals.

Billy had a -3 under par 67, while the Cigar chomping, Ferrari driving, wine drinking Miguel sadly carded +1 over 71, with back to back bogey’s on 17 and 18.

It must have been heartbreaking for Miguel to come so close;

“I’m human, you know, I’m going to make bogeys.”

“I’m going to make birdies. It’s the way it’s coming. That moment is not on my side.”

Billy spoke about the different set of playing standards they encountered during the rain delayed tournament;

“All four days we saw different golf courses.”

“Kind of medium on Thursday. It wasn’t all that bad, that windy, but it was still hard to play on Friday.”

“Of course, Saturday the wind started blowing. It was blowing all over the place.”

“Today it was wet and soft and hardly any wind. We got to see Scioto in four different ways on four different days.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

