Rio Olympic Ladies Golf. Ariya Jutanugarn 1st Round Leader.

White Dragon Golf

Ariya Jutanugarn, from Thailand, is the 1st round leader of the Ladies Tournament at the Rio Olympics.

Ladies Golf, Rio Olympics

ARIYA JUTANUGARN / getty

Ariya cruised to a first round -6 under par 65 in the opening round of the Rio Olympics, which gave her a one shot advantage over the field,

 “I think I’m going to be really excited, because I like to represent Thailand.”

“We want to be the best and have the Gold Medal for Thailand. I think it’s going to be great if I have it.”

“I like the Village a lot, before I came here I had no idea what it’s going to be like.”

” When I got into the village, I liked it. I love it a lot.  I’m a roommate with the badminton players from Thailand and I have had a chance to watch them play a few matches.”

“Pretty good.”

Sharing second place with -5 under par opening rounds of 66 are Inbee Park, and Sei Young Kim, both ladies from South Korea.

Inbee has recovered from her recent injury problems;

“I first started feeling it in the off‑season in January. Some weeks it was good. Some weeks it was bad.’
‘I tried to rest it and tried to play again. Didn’t really work. When I tried to play again, it just didn’t work.”

“I felt like still perform well and I can still play with injury, but it just didn’t happen. It was just my mistake. Now I feel much better than before. “

“Bogey‑free round, been awhile. Feels great.”

“It wasn’t too windy out there this morning, so I had a lot of opportunities at birdie.”

 “I had a really good ball‑striking day. I had a lot of opportunities and there was probably two or three more putts that I possible could have made.”

“But yeah, I’m very satisfied with today’s round. I felt quite nervous this morning, teeing off, and being able to overcome that kind of nerves feels great.”

World No. 1 Lydia Ko of New Zealand is T11 with her opening effort of -2 under 69, courtesy of holing her nine iron second shot from 136 yards for an Eagle  on the par four 15th;

“It was my first eagle at the Olympics, so I think it’s great.”

” At the men’s last week, I think there were two hole‑in‑ones and a few eagles, and I put my contribution to golf by making an eagle, I think is a really good feeling, and especially since I was even par at that point in my round.”

“So to go from zero to two‑under-par was a great turnaround.”

Brazilian Miriam Nagl teed off first, hitting the  first Olympic women’s tee shot in 116 years, she recorded a round of +8 over 79;

 “It was nerve‑wracking, to be honest.  I was very nervous, but what an honor that I could be hitting this shot.”

” It means so much to me,  being in my home country and golf being back in the Olympic Games, and the fact that I have a little daughter now.”

“It was just very special to me.”

Golf - Olympics: Day 12 : News Photo

Miriam Nagl 

 

Leave a Reply

