Wyndham Championship. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfWyndham Championship

Kevin Na and  Rafa Cabrera Bello are the two players tied at the top of the Wyndham Championship leaderboard, as play was suspended due to darkness.

Na motivated by more than golf at WyndhamCabrera Bello, Na share Wyndham Championship lead

Kevin Na and Rafa Cabrera Bello / getty

Both Kevin and Rafa shot -7 under par 63 in the first round of the Wyndham Championship at Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, to sit on top of the leaderboard.

Rafa was returning from the Olympics, and said he needed a rest;

“Last week was a big adrenaline week.”

 “It was the first time I was really not playing for myself, just playing for my country and obviously it’s a huge honor, but also big responsibility.”

“I wanted to do good and I was pleased with my result.”

” Coming into this week, I felt the game was good, just needed a bit of rest.”

“There was a chance of me not making it through the money list and making it through the world ranking points list, that’s what I wanted to focus on.”

“I’m pretty sure this week has a stronger world ranking than the one in Europe and I also felt that it was going to be easier to travel south to north than from Rio to Czech Republic, jet lag-wise.”

Kevin was happy to see the putts get in the hole;

“Hit it well, made a lot of putts.”

“That putter has not been all that hot this year and it was nice to see a lot of putts go in.”

“It’s usually over the years been my strong part of game but I felt like I really found something.”

Five players share third place with opening rounds of -5 under par 65, Danny Lee, Derek Fathauer, Peter Malnati, Brandt Snedeker and a name from the past Luke Donald.

Luke carded a hole in one on the par three 16th, and loves the holiday for life he got for the effort;

“Had a perfect number, downhill a little bit, 159 yards,  and it was playing straight downwind and good nine iron for me and looked good all the way.”

“Hit a foot short and went in the hole.”

“Bonus when it goes in, obviously, and nice to win a holiday for life. Apparently that’s what I got for it.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

