Rio Olympics Ladies Golf. Inbee Looking Good For Gold

White Dragon Golf

Inbee Park is looking good for the Gold Golf Medal at the Rio Olympics after 54 holes in Brasil.

Rio Olympics

Inbee Park / getty

Inbee, from South Korea, stayed on top of the Rio Olympic leaderboard with a third round -1 under par 70, and will take a two shot advantage over the field into the final round tomorrow at -11 under for the Gold Medal;

“I think first coming here, I didn’t really know whether I was going to play this week or not due to the injury.”

“Obviously didn’t expect much of a result. It was more of, you know, whether I can play or not.”

“So I mean, a good result is a great gift. But at the same time, I know I’ve been in the position before and I know in a good condition, I can do it.”

“I think just trying to enjoy the Olympics and try to enjoy the Olympic golf, brought really good results.”

Sharing second place at -9 under par are Gerina Piller, U.S.A  -3 under 68 today, and World number one Lydia Ko, playing for New Zealand, played her way back into contention with -6 under 65 in the third round.

The World Number One Lydia also registered her first ever hole in one today;

“This is the first one in a practice round and tournaments, all included.”

” I almost didn’t know how to react, because it is your first one, and the wind is blowing and I haven’t had the best of luck when it comes to hole‑in‑ones.”

” I would have loved to like done a dance or jumped up‑and‑down, but in that situation, I think I was almost trying to cry, and then realised I had 11 more holes to play.”

“It’s really cool.  It just puts the cherry on top.”

” This week is about having fun and this experience, being an Olympian and competing in the Olympics, and to have my first hole-in-one, is something that I’ll never forget.”

Gerina said tomorrow will be one of the biggest rounds of her life;

 “I would say it’s one of the biggest, yes.”

“Playing the Solheim Cup is definitely dear to my heart and trying to win that for the country.”

” But I’ve never played in the final round of an Olympics before, competing for a medal.”

” It’s going to be pretty special.  I’m going to soak it in all in, take it all in, and no matter what the outcome, I’m proud to be American.”

Completing the top four is Shanshan Feng, representing China, her -3 under par 68 today moved her up the leaderboard, and a possible medal position finish, with her -8 under par total. She is hoping her performance will inspire new Chinese players;

Back in China, normally we are only on golf channels, but this time people can see us on any television channels.”

“I think that’s a great chance to let the Chinese know how good the Chinese players are, and hopefully they can just fall in love with the sport and join this sport.

Rio Olympics

The Final Group, Inbee, Lydia and Gerina / getty

Leave a Reply

