Canadian Pacific Women’s Open. Round One Suspended, Due to Darkness.

White Dragon Golf

Round one of the Canadian Pacific Women’s Open has been suspended due to darkness, with Chella Choi leading.

 Canadian Pacific Women’s Open

Chella Choi / getty

Chella was at -7 under par after playing 14 holes of the  Canadian Pacific Women’s Open at Priddis Greens Golf & Country Club in Canada.

The threat of lightning held up play early on, leading to the suspension of play when it became too dark to play.

Stephanie Meadow shared second place at -6 under par, a completed first round. Karine Archer is also at -6 under, after 14 first round holes.

Stephanie, from Ireland relished the windy conditions found normally at home, and is coming off a  good finish at the Rio Olympics;

‘It was gray and it looked like it was rain and windy, so that’s pretty much Ireland in a nutshell.”

 ”But definitely I think it’s nice to know that I can play in those conditions.”

“I’ve done it a lot, even though it’s when I was little. But I’ve still done it and scored, so I know I can do it.”

“I think Rio was a huge adrenaline rush for everyone that was there. I know all of us had a fantastic experience.”

“I played pretty good in the second round there, too. I think I definitely took some confidence and am rolling it into this week.”

“I’m here to compete and win no matter what week, so I think any tournament gives me a little bit of a rush. Maybe not as much as the Olympics but mostly all the time.”

Lydia Ko, the world number one is at -5 under par with her completed round of 67, she talked about the delays, and lunch, and putting well;

”I had lunch like three times and I had fro-yos,.”

‘I wish there could be a switch where we could put out the sun or put some overcast.”

“But when it comes to weather, we can’t control it, so when it’s that case, you just have to go with it.”

“I played really solid, birdied the first hole straight off the bat.”

”I was putting really well and hit the ball pretty good throughout the round.”

 

Leave a Reply

