Canadian Pacific Womens Open. Ariya Jutanugarn Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Ariya Jutanugarn leads the Canadian Pacific Womens Open, at the mid-way point at Priddis Greens Golf & Country Club.

Canadian Pacific Women’s Open

Ariya Jutanugarn / getty

Ariya carded a second round -8 under par 64, to comfortably lead the Canadian Pacific Womens Open with a -12 under pat total, and a three shot lead going into the week-end. She spoke about her Rio Olympics withdrawal, due to injury and how good she feels now;

“I feel pretty good today because I hit my tee shot pretty good, and I was calm on every shot, so I feel good.”

“I know I hurt my knee, so that’s why I didn’t play very good on the third round, and after the withdraw I just felt okay.”

“I just had to rest and take care of my knee. So after that I feel like just play golf, and it didn’t feel like anything changed. I feel like I’m okay. I wanted to see how I’m feeling.”

“But after that, like on Monday, it didn’t hurt that much and today it’s getting a lot better.”

Two ladies are tied in second place at -9 under for the tournament, In Gee Chun, -5 under 67 today and Stephanie Meadow, with -3 under 69 in her second round.

Stephanie is just enjoying the ride.

Canadian Pacific Women’s Open

Stephanie Meadow / getty

“I didn’t have my best game today and I still shot 69.”

“So I think everyone’s going to have a bad nine holes throughout a four-round stretch, and I’ll just keep going tomorrow and hopefully get the ball striking back and make some birdies and have fun.”

“This is what we work for. This is our environment to be out there on the leaderboard. So it’s going to be fun. I’m going to enjoy it.”

Five ladies are tied in fourth place at -8 under, including World number one Lydia Ko, -3 under 69 today, and starting in first place today Chella Choi, who did not do so well today, -1 under 71.

Lydia is playing well, feeling confident, just needs a few more putts to drop;

“I played pretty solid the last few days, hoped for a few more putts to drop, but it’s just really tough out there with some pins being tucked and on little slopes.”

“Three-footers, four or five, they’re not easy tap-ins or easy birdies or pars.”

“So when it’s that kind of scenario you really need to take your time and be patient out there.”

“But there’s still a lot of golf to be played. I feel like I’m playing solid, and it’s a good position going into the weekend.”

Joining Lydia and Chella on that -8 under total are Sei Young Kim and Hyo Joo Kim, both with -5 under 67 today, and Mi Jung Hur, -3 under 69.

CAN Alena Sharp and Maude-Aimee LeBlanc are tied for low Canadian honors at -6 under par for the two rounds, six shots back of the lead.

Leave a Reply

