The Barclays. Reed Leads.

 

White Dragon GolfFedExCup Playoffs

 

The Barclays

 

Patrick Reed leads The Barclays after 36 holes at a very tough Bethpage State Park, Black Course, in New York.

Reed leads at The Barclays

Patrick Reed / getty

Patrick fired a second round -3 under par 68 to lead The Barclays 50th anniversary event at  Bethpage Black with a -8 under par tournament total;

“It’s just like a major, you go into these Playoff events, they are so important because there are 2,000 points for a FedExCup.”

“You win a major, you get, I think it’s 600. So you know at this point, you have four events, you have to play some really good golf.”

“I feel like I’ve been trending in the right direction. I feel like the game’s been solid. I just need to get it all clicking.”

“It’s golf. You have guys that are going to win in years and you’re going to have guys that aren’t going to win in years.”

“I think this year has been a lot better than last year and the previous years on consistency.”

“That’s a big part that I’ve been working on is to make sure I keep myself into golf tournaments. Not go out and win an event here, and then miss two or three cuts and finish 50th, 40th.

“It’s about consistency; consistently getting in contention, consistently having chances to win.”

“If I keep doing that, I will at some point break through and win hopefully a couple in a row, not just one.”

Rickie Fowler and Emiliano Grillo, both carding -2 under 69 today are tied in second place, two shots back at -6 under par.

For Rickie, it’s all about the mustache;

“I have confidence in myself and my mustache.”

“Let’s have some fun. Something different. Trying to get some MoJo going in the Playoffs.

Ryan Moore, who triumphed at the John Deere, scored a second round -3 under par 68, to hold 4th spot on his own at -5 under par;

“I just feel better this time of year than I have in the past.”

 “A little bit more rested and kind of enjoying playing golf a little bit more.”

“Sometimes I’ve hit this point and I’ve been really worn out and kind of over it a little bit.”

“I can’t hit 7-irons out of this rough, for me it’s all about fairways and give myself opportunities from there.”

“That’s all I’m thinking about right now is getting to the TOUR Championship, because that’s the only way you can win the FedExCup,”

Jordan Spieth started his round with a double-bogey, but came back to card -4 under 67 on the day and is now handily placed just four shots back of the leader at -4 under for the competition, sharing that place with a host of other players, including World number one Jason Day.

Jordan spoke about his indifferent start, in the words of his caddie;

“Let’s find the fairway here, get into rhythm and pretend that didn’t happen.”

 “He said, let’s get two birdies before the turn. Re-setting a goal there, is really key for me to get my mind away from what happened and look forward.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

