The Barclays. Patrick Reed Wins.

White Dragon GolfFedExCup PlayoffsThe Barclays

Patrick Reed wins The Barclays at Bethpage State Park, Black Course. in New York.

Teamwork puts Reed on top

Brother-in-law Caddie, Kessler Karain and Patrick Reed / getty

Patrick put together a final round -1 under par 70, which was good enough for him to win The Barclays, with a -9 under par total;

“I feel great, any time you can come from behind on Sunday to win a golf tournament, means you must be doing something right.”

“To build yourself a lead to come down the last couple was huge.”

“Especially around a place like this because those last holes are just so difficult.”

“It wasn’t like I had to go out and shoot 62 like I have had to do in other events.”

“So with having my poor round be closer to the lead, it eased my nerves a lot, especially coming on to the first nine, because I knew I was playing really well, and I already had my bad round out of the way, so I can go ahead and free it up and play some good golf.”

Sean O’Hair,  a -5 under par 66 elevating him up the leaderboard, shared second place with Emiliano Grillo, -2 under 69 today,  both players at -8 under par.

Saddest sight of the day was Rickie Fowler, watching him destroy any chance of winning this tournament, or playing his way onto the U.S. Ryder Cup Team. For most of the day he was fighting neck and neck with Patrick, and then proceeded to card +5 over against one Birdie over the last eight holes, to card a last round +3 over par 74, and end up T7.

The Upshot: Fowler's downfall

Distraught Rickie / getty;

“I mean, it will hurt, but it’s only going to make it better for next week.”

“I’ll be in a good spot.”

“I didn’t drive it the way I needed to, it was just a little off here and there.”

“So yeah, very disappointing. Not the way I’ve been playing the back nine all week.”

“Coming to the last eight holes, I made one bogey through the week. I don’t know, like I said, just made a couple bad swings at the wrong time.”

 

Leave a Reply

