Omega European Masters. Four Players Share Round 1 Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Four players share the round 1 lead at the Omega European Masters at  Crans-sur-Sierre Golf Club, in SwitzerlandPaul Peterson, from U.S.A. who won the D+D REAL Czech Masters last week, Grégory Havret and Mike Lorenzo-Vera from France with Daniel Brooks from England.

Omega European Maasters

Paul Peterson

PaulGrégory, Mike and Daniel opened their Omega European Masters accounts with first rounds of -6 under par 64.

Paul was happy to continue his good recent form;

“It felt really good to get off to a good start.”

“I was reading the greens well and putting the ball in play. I’m continuing my strong wedge game so I’m really happy.”

Mike is concentrating on getting some points towards the Race to Dubai;

“I need some points in the Race to Dubai so I’m playing as well as I can.”

“I knew I was playing well but it was just being consistent.”

“I managed to finish the last three holes in one under. I was really accurate all day so I’m very happy about that.”

Grégory’s wife has just given birth to a son, and that makes him very happy, on the down side today was the putts that did not drop;

“I’ve been home for a few weeks because of my new baby boy, so to come back here and play in tough conditions, I’m glad I did it well.”

“From the fifth hole you know you will have some opportunities if you hit good shots. It is another thing to do it.”

“I had a few good putts but didn’t make them. I had a good birdie on the eighth from 20 feet.”

Daniel Eagled the back to back par fives, 14 and 15, and also putted well;

“I played both holes really well.”

“I had an eight iron into one of them after a good drive and hit it to two feet and then a seven iron into the other one and hit that to two feet as well.”

“I missed a few greens early on and hit some nice chips which keeps you going, then I hit some nice putts midway through the round to pick up the birdies.”

“Hopefully a good night’s sleep now and same again tomorrow.”

The field is really bunched at the top, with nine players chasing the leaders, with all of them at -5 under par.

Leave a Reply

