Deutsche Bank Championship. James Hahn Driving Perfection, Shares Lead With Ryan Moore.

White Dragon GolfDeutsche Bank ChampionshipFedExCup Playoffs

James Hahn hit all 14 fairways, driving perfection to share the lead at the Deutsche Bank Championship, with Ryan Moore, at TPC Boston.

James Hahn hit 14 of 14 fairways leading to a 6-under 65 in Round 1 of the Deutsche Bank Championship. (Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)

James Hahn / getty

James and Ryan carded bogey free first rounds of -6 under par 65 to lead the  Deutsche Bank Championship by just one shot.

James said it was the first time ever he had hit 14 out of 14 fairways, and it was thanks to a swing change he adopted;

“First time I’ve ever done that, feels good.”

“For me, I play better, I swing the club better, I’m more consistent when I keep my pressure on my left foot and continue towards the target.” 

Ryan is playing a lot of golf right now, getting tuned up for the FedExCup

“I like how I’ve been feeling with my game, this is actually the sixth tournament in a row, which I don’t think I’ve ever done in my entire career on the PGA TOUR.”

“I’m getting some positive momentum going into these events.”

“How I’ve been doing it these last few years kind of wasn’t working so I decided to change it up and play a lot more and make a final push and then I know I get a little break.”

“It seems to be working, whatever that decision was.”

Paul Casey, Fabian Gomez, Brian Stuard and Jhonattan Vegas are tied in third place at -5 under par following their opening rounds of 66.

Paul has ex  Luke Donald caddie John McLaren on his bag now, and says early results are encouraging;

“Feeling good about the game, I must admit the way I struck the ball today was reminiscent of how I used to strike it a few years ago.”

“He’s seen and done it all, without question, he brings a lot more to me as a golfer on and off the course in the way we approach it, the way we work, the way he crunches the numbers.”

“We formulate strategies, he talks with (swing coach) Peter Kostis, he talks to my trainer.”

“It’s the complete package. It’s the first time I really feel like I’ve ever had that.”

At the other end of the table is Phil Mickelson, a strange round full of horrendous mistakes, and out right genius recovery flop shots, he eventually signed for a +4 over 75, and gave the crowd full value for their entrance money, and they loved it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

