Deutsche Bank Championship.Kevin Chappell Leads.

 

White Dragon GolfDeutsche Bank Championship FedExCup Playoffs

Kevin Chappell leads the Deutsche Bank Championship after 36 holes at TPC Boston.

Chappell pulls in front

Kevin Chappell / getty

Kevin shot a second round -7 under par 64 to take the lead in the Deutsche Bank Championship at the half-way stage, with a -11 under par total.

Kevin has not yet found a way to win on Tour;

“This year’s been great. I think it’s shown that my growth personally has paralleled my growth in golf. but the first part is more important to me.”

“It’s been six years and $10 million (in prize money) and I haven’t been able to do it.”

 “But there are a lot of guys who have had great careers and haven’t been able to win.”

“If I’m going to define my career on that I’m probably setting myself up for failure.”

Paul Casey, -5 under 66 today, and Jimmy Walker, who matched the leaders low round of the day -7 under 64, share second place at -10 under.

Brian Harman is fourth, -6 under 65 giving that place on his own at -9 under par.

Rory McIlroy improved his putting and made the cut, shooting -4 under 67, which put him T 30;

“The recovery has been good, it wasn’t the best way to start yesterday, but I stayed patient.”

“My game’s good and numbers are going to happen like that [triple-bogey at the 12th on Friday] once in a while.”

“I just need to pick off my birdies and that’s what I did yesterday to get back to even par.”

“It was a bit of a mixed bag on the front nine, but I was really happy to shoot 67 to put myself back in to the tournament.”

World number one Jason Day made the cut on the number, and is currently T 62 at -1 under par.

Bubba Watson and Phil Mickelson both missed the cut, which fell at -1 under par.

 

Leave a Reply

