Manulife LPGA Classic. Caroline Masson Wins Maiden Title.

White Dragon Golf

Caroline Masson, from Germany, wins her Maiden LPGA Tour title, the Manulife LPGA Classic at Whistle Bear Golf Club, in Canada.

Manulife LPGA Classic

Caroline Masson / getty

Caroline shot a final round -5 under par 67 to win the Manulife LPGA Classic with a -16 under par total;

“It’s hard to believe, I mean it really is.”

“Obviously I was in a good position coming into today, and I was thinking, well, if I can shoot a really good round, I might have a chance, but I was totally not expecting it.”

“I always know that I can win a tournament on the LPGA, I obviously also know that a lot of things have to go right for that.”

“Golf is a funny game, and I was a little streaky this year. I played a lot of great golf, and I missed a lot of cuts and most of them actually by one shot which was really disappointing.”

“It was a really frustrating period this year. And you know, it’s all about just keep working and believing that you can do it, and that’s what I did and that’s what my team helped me with.”

Karine Icher, from France with -6 under par 66, Minjee Lee, Australia, -4 under 68 and Mi Hyang Lee, South Korea, -1 under 71, shared second place at -15 under par.

Minjee was upset at not winning, but happy with second anyway;

“I started off well, I was 4-under through the first nine, but I guess I couldn’t quite get it done and she was one shot ahead of us.”

“knew it was going to be pretty close.”

 “I mean coming second is always worse than first, but it’s better than third.”

World number one Lydia Ko, -4 under 68, finished in a tie for fifth place with Suzann Peterson, -6 under 66, and Ariya Jutanugarn, -2 under 70, all with -14 under par totals.

Lydia thinks Golf Canada is looking after the youngsters really well’

“It seems like Canadian women’s golf is heading in the right direction.”

“We have a lot of great young players coming up, and Golf Canada has been working hard getting these players developed, and they have everything ;you know, really, they have great coaching, great nutritionists, they have great physio and workout, and it’s starting to show, I think.”

Alena Sharp was once again the top Canadian in the field, T 26 at -9 under for her home tournament;

“I feel like, okay, now I can relax for a week and enjoy my family tonight and get on the road tomorrow, drive, think about it for two days while we’re driving.”

“But yeah, I do feel like now I can rest and really enjoy these last three weeks, because I didn’t really get to enjoy last week that much because you get here and you want to stay focused.”

“So now I’m just going to enjoy playing well these last three weeks for sure.”

Leave a Reply

