Deutsche Bank Championship. Rory Returns To The Winners Circle.

White Dragon GolfDeutsche Bank Championship FedExCup Playoffs

Rory McIlroy returns to the winners circle at the Deutsche Bank Championship.

Rory wins at TPC Boston

Rory / getty

Rory carded a final round -6 under par 65, in very windy conditions, to claim the Deutsche Bank Championship trophy, with a -15 under par total, a two shot victory, with good putting being the key;

Rory now moves into third position on the World Rankings;

“Things can turn around very quickly in this game, I think those last 15 holes on Friday were definitely a turning point.”

“Not just in this tournament, but maybe in my season.”

“It’s just incredible, this game, how quickly things can change, It’s been a great lesson for me this week not to get down on myself, to stay patient.”

After three holes Friday, there was so much going through my head, and none of those things involved sitting beside a trophy.”

“I wasn’t getting impatient. I wasn’t searching, I know that I hadn’t won on the PGA Tour in a while,.

“But over the past 12 months, I’ve still had three wins worldwide.”

“I knew my game was in good shape, I just needed to do something with the putting.”

“I found something. I still need to keep going with it. It’s definitely not the finished article, but it’s a big step in the right direction.”

Paul Casey started the day with a three shot lead, but that soon evaporated as he struggled round the front nine. He finished in second place at -13 under par, after his last round +2 over par 73.

Paul was frustrated with his last round performance;

“Wow, very impressive. Yeah, that’s a might round of golf.”

“I struggled a little bit from the get-go and it’s hard to regain rhythm and make your birdies if you started out that way, so I found it incredibly difficult.”

“I battled well, did a lot of things brilliantly all week, but obviously frustrated.”

Jimmy Walker was third, a final round -1 under par 70 giving him a -12 under par total, and third spot on his own.

 

Leave a Reply

