ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters. Lee-Anne Pace Leads.

White Dragon GolfISPS Ladies European Masters

Lee Ann Pace, from South Africa leads the ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters after the first round at Golf Club Hubbelrath in Düsseldorf, Germany.

ISPS HANDA Ladies European MastersLee Ann Pace / getty

Lee Ann fired a first round -7 under par 65 to lead the  ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters tournament in Germany.

She was especially pleased with her new irons and some good putting;

“I had an unlucky break on my first hole. I don’t know what it hit but it jumped a fairway, which was kind of unfortunate. After that, not a lot of mistakes.”

“I hit a lot of fairways and greens and made quite a few putts so I’m happy with it.” 

“It’s the kind of course where you need to shape it off the tee. The greens do hold quite easily so even with long irons or hybrids they do stop.”

“I just got new irons, the new PING blade irons and I absolutely love them, so I feel really comfortable. I’m playing nicely. My swing is good and I feel like I can shape it both ways.”

Katie Burnett from the United States is in second place, a -6 under par 66, Katie likes the course a lot;

“I hit a lot of greens. The greens are soft so if you’re hitting your irons well you can attack the flags. I hit quite a few within a couple of feet.”

“It’s a great golf course. The greens are good, fairways are good. The greens are soft, which is nice because you don’t get the run-out that you might on a firmer course.”

In-Kyung Kim, from South Korea is third, a -5 under par 67 giving her that place on her own, saying this is a whole new experience for her;

“I’m quite surprised how Sandra Gal is normal here. Sandra is quite tall in the States but everyone is tall here. It’s fun.”

“I’d love to go and check out the city. The language is so different. I’ve never heard German before so it’s all new sound to me.”

Leave a Reply

