KLM Open. Ben Evans Leads

White Dragon Golf

Ben Evans leads after the first round of the KLM Open at The Dutch golf course in Holland.

KLM Open

Ben Evans

Ben shot a KLM Open first round-6 under par 65 to lead the competition after the first round, and said he likes the links style course, and it was an improvement in his putting that made the difference today;

“I came here on Monday and had some extra time to practice.”

“I like the course visually. It’s like an in-land links and you can see that they have done that with the decision.”

“It looks like a links course and with a lot of slopes and undulations it plays quite like a links course too.”

“I am in a similar position to what I was last year in terms of my card, I need to play well to keep it but I am confident that I can do that.”

“It only takes one good week to turn everything around and I hope this is the week.”

“I holed a lot of putts early on in the round to get me to two under and then hit a few nice wedges in close to get off to a pretty fast start.”

“The putting was the difference today – I holed a lot of mid-range putts which I haven’t been doing a lot of lately.”

Eight players are tied in second place at -5 under par following their opening rounds of 66; Byeong-hun An, Nino Bertasio, Chris Hanson, Peter Hanson, Mikko Korhonen, Joakim Lagergren, Bernd Wiesberger and Dutch amateur Rowin Caron.

They are followed by a group of 11 players on -4 under par.

Defending champion Thomas Pieters has been forced to withdraw from the competition, he was stung by a bee on Monday afternoon during a challenge match against Dutch number one Joost Luiten, who was -2 under today.

Thomas announcing on his Instagram account (Thomaspietersgolf):

“The very unfortunate worst case scenario just happened…. One bee sting on Monday during the golf challenge against @joostluitengolfer led to a major allergic reaction with flu symptoms, and forced me to pull out of my favourite tournament of the year #KLMOpen. Very sorry to all the fans that are on their way to support me and to the organisation @tgsport. I owe it to you guys to defend my title next year.”

 

Leave a Reply

