KLM Open. Bernd Wiesberger Is In Front

 

White Dragon Golf

Bernd Wiesberger is in front in the KLM Open after 36 holes at The Dutch golf course in Holland.

KLM Open

Bernd Wiesberger / getty

Bernd carded a second round -5 under par 66 to lead the KLM Open at the half-way stage with a -10 under total, thanks mainly to some good putting;

“It was good to finally hole a couple of putts and get a score.”

“I’ve been playing alright, I’ve just not had breaks going for me, I’ve not had a good, solid week on the greens.”

“The long game has been steady but it feeds into a whole atmosphere if you can’t take advantage of that.”

“So far I’ve been really taking advantage of my chances and having a great time out there with Joost and Jake (Roos) and the support.”

Three players are tied in second place at -9 under par, Home town boy Joost Luiten, -7 under par 64 today, giving the home gallery some real hope that a Dutchman can win, Nino Bertasio from Italy, -4 under 67, and Mark Foster from England, -5 under par 66 in his second round.

Joost wants to repeat his second round score tomorrow;

“Tomorrow is a new day and I need to do the same as I did today.”

“If I can keep my irons like I hit today and create a lot of birdie chances and keep the putter warm, I’ll be alright.”

It was special out there, It was very busy from the beginning, it was a great day with the weather and the golf course is unbelievable so I’m very happy with a 64.”

“It’s great to feel the crowd behind you. The atmosphere out there was great, not only for me but for my playing partners, and that is what makes it so much fun to play in Holland.”

Nino has enjoyed a great year of golf and is looking forward to a good finish in the Race to Dubai;

“It has been a great year for me with going to the Olympics and keeping my Tour card so now I have to reset my goals and try to finish as high as I can on the Race to Dubai.” 

“I am just looking forward to tomorrow and trying to get out there and make as many birdies as I can.”

Mark is returning to form and is hoping his experience will keep him in contention;

“I am getting back to my best, I haven’t had as many playing opportunities this year but when I can play I am enjoying it.”

“I have been out here a long time and I am a lot more chilled out than I was in my prime.”

“I certainly don’t sit at home crying about not being able to play – and my wife wouldn’t let me do that anyway!”

“I love this tournament, though, so I am really looking forward to the weekend. There are some great names up there on the leaderboard so it’s going to be a good weekend and hopefully I can stay near the top.”

Leave a Reply

