ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfISPS Ladies European Masters

There are two ladies tied at the top of the ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters after three rounds at  Golf Club Hubbelrath in Germany. Belen Mozo shares the honor with Lee-Ann Pace.

ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters

Belen Mozo / getty

Belen shot a third round -3 under par 69, which included an Eagle on the par five 17th, to top the ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters leaderboard with Lee-Ann, both at -9 under par for the tournament.

Belen, from Spain,  is looking for her first  Ladies European Tour victory;

“On this course, you can have a feast of birdies. It’s not a long course, especially now it’s drying out and you don’t need a driver.”

“I haven’t used a driver the last two days and I was teeing off with lots of hybrids. It is so bouncy and slopey that you have to be very accurate on your lines.”

“I think the key is going to be on the greens. The greens are soft, they don’t have a lot of break, so whoever rolls in more putts tomorrow is going to take back the trophy.”

Lee-Ann made a bogey on the first hole, again;

“It was a slow start. I made a bogey on the first again and it hasn’t been kind to me, that first hole.”

“I didn’t quite get it going until the ninth hole and we had a little chat after that, like, ‘Come on, you’re only two behind,’ and I picked up the pace a little bit, pardon the pun.”

Home favorite Sandra Gall, -6 under 66 today, is sharing third place at -8 under par with In-Kyung Kim, -1 under 71, and second round leader Katie Burnett, who could only post an even round 72 today.

Sandra was really happy to play well at her home club;

“It was a good day today but I’m a little overwhelmed.”

“The crowds were so nice on the 18th and they kept clapping.”

“It was so much fun to play well in your home country and at your home club, especially.”

Defending Champion Beth Allen, -4 under 68 today, is in 9th place at -5 under par, but still thinks she has a chance tomorrow;

“That was the goal today really, to get in the mix, so I’m happy.”

“I was hitting it close today and if I’d putted better it would have been a much better day. I had a lot of opportunities and if I hit it like that and putt a little better tomorrow I think I’ll be in good shape.”

Leave a Reply

