KLM Open. Scott Hend Hits The Front.

White Dragon Golf

Scott Hend hits the front in the third round of the KLM Open at The Dutch golf course in Holland.

KLM Open

Scott Hend

Scott had a -7 under par 64 in the third round of the KLM Open, which took him to the top of the leaderboard with a -14 under par total, and a one shot advantage going into the final round tomorrow. He struggled with his swing but the putting was good;

“It was just all about hanging in there today, I wasn’t really on top of it but I got the most out of it that I could.”

“The swing felt a little bit off out there today but I managed to hang in there and just stay patient and then I started hitting some really nice shots and that presented me with the opportunity to make some putts.”

Nino Bertasio is in second place at -13 under par, his third round score of -4 under par 67 keeping him in touch with the leader, he said he made a couple of monster putts today;

“It was another good solid day, I played very well again and made a couple of monster putts today which was a surprise because they all seemed to be close range yesterday.”

“I have been surprised how calm I have been out there and how much I have enjoyed this week. I just love the golf course and have been loving it out there.”

“We will see what happens tomorrow. I am really looking forward to it.”

“I know I will be playing with Scott which is great because we played together at the Olympics which was an amazing experience. We will have a good time out there tomorrow as well.”

Ben Evans, -3 under par 68 today,  David Horsey, -4 under 67, Richard Bland, -5 under 66, and top Dutch player Joost Luiten with -2 under 69, are all tied in third place at -11 under par.

Home favorite Joost is pretty happy with his position;

“It could have been a little better than two under but overall I have to be pretty happy with it.”

“I left one out there with the three-putt on 16 and the putter wasn’t as good as yesterday when I managed to hole a couple of long ones. But that is golf – some days they go in and the next they won’t so I am happy with two under.”

“It was tricky today to get close to the pins, but anything under par is good round here and I am in a pretty good position for the weekend.”

“The birdie at the last is always nice, it was great to finish like that on a positive.”

“This has been the busiest I have ever seen at a KLM Open and the crowds have been amazing.”

“It’s only Saturday today so hopefully we can have even more here tomorrow and I can get a low round going and try and win this title again because that is what I came here to do.”

South African Brandon Stone carded a brilliant course-record -8 under 63 to join  Tommy Fleetwood,-2 under 69, Simon Khan, -3 under 68 and Bernd Wiesberger, even par 71, at -10 under for the tournament.

Leave a Reply

