ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters. In-Kyung Kim Wins.

White Dragon GolfISPS Ladies European Masters

In-Kyung Kim , from South Korea, wins the ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters tournament at  Golf Club Hubbelrath in Germany.

 ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters

In-Kyung Kim / getty

In-Kyung won the ISPS HANDA Ladies European Masters tournament with a final bogey free round of -9 under par 63, to post a -17 under par winning score.

 In-Kyung had previously won this title, in 2014 at Buckinghamshire Golf Club in England, and amazingly shot 63 in the final round then. Today the putts all dropped as well;

“It’s a totally different feeling because then we played in England and now we’re playing in Germany.”

“There is such a big Korean community in Germany because after the war a lot of people came for work and stayed here.”

“It means a lot to be the only Korean in the field, so I wanted to play well, but you cannot force golf; it’s four rounds.”

“I really wanted to shoot something lower than 63, because I have shot 63 before, but that is something I cannot control. I had a lot of chances today.”

 “I did my best on every shot from the first day and today it just kind of came together with some good putts. I had 26 putts today.”

“Yesterday I hit the ball as well but the putts didn’t fall.”

kimtree250 

In-Kyung Kim planted a Fagus Sylvatica tree at Golf Club Hubbelrath in support of the club’s “Golf and Nature” programme.

Belen Mozo, from Spain, who aced the 13th hole in the final round, captured second place, a last round -3 under par 69 giving her a -12 under par total, seven shots off the lead, which amazed her;

“I wasn’t paying attention to the scores however I did glimpse the scoreboard on 12 and I saw IK Kim minus 15.”

“I knew she was a great player but I didn’t expect it.”

Home heroine Sandra Gal, -3 under 69 today, tied for third with Sweden’s Camilla Lennarth, who posted a final round -5 under 67, both ladies with -11 under totals.

 

 

Leave a Reply

