Italian Open. Rikard Karlberg Leads Lightning Delayed Tournament.

White Dragon Golf

Defending champion Rikard Karlberg leads in the lightning delayed Italian Open tournament in Milan.

Italian Open

Rikard Karlberg / getty

Rikard carded a first round -7 under par 64 in the lightning delayed Italian Open, where almost five hours of play was lost due to torrential rain and the threat of lightning at Golf Club Milano.

Rikard finished his day with an Eagle at his last hole, the par five 9th;

“That’s as good as it gets. It was great round.”

“I felt at a few tournaments there have been too many bogeys, I haven’t been able to save par to get the round going and today I did that and in the end we shot seven under.”

“I’m very happy with that.”

“You know when you get chances here and you have to keep it a bit cool and try to hit greens.”

“I kept my cool even though it was a longer day. Standing over the last shot into green on the ninth I just told myself, ‘I’m so tired but it’s just one more shot’. Pleased to execute as good as I did.”

“It’s not a proper flow but we can sleep in tomorrow and play with the kids a bit and enjoy some time with the family before arriving here. It shouldn’t be any problem.”

Local favorite  Francesco Molinari is in hot pursuit, he holds second place at -6 under par following his opening effort of -6 under par 65.

Tied in third spot are Robert Karlsson and Adrian Otaegui, who went round  bogey-free for -5 under 66.

Leave a Reply

