The Evian Championship. Two Tied At The Top.

White Dragon Golf

Two ladies are tied at the top of The Evian Championship leaderboard after the first round at Evian Golf Club in France. In Gee Chun and Sung Hyun Park, from South Korea share the lead, shooting 63 in the opening round.

The Evian ChampionshipIn-Gee-Chun-and-Sung-Hyun-Park / getty

In Gee and Sung Hyun shot -8 under par 63 in the opening round of The Evian Championship in France, to lead by one stroke over the field, on a wet and windy day.

In Gee put her good start down to being drawn in a good group, along with some good putting;

“Before the round I felt really nervous today, and it was windy, and there was a thunderstorm this morning, so I tried more focus on my game.”

”I could see the putting lines very well, and I was so good rolling the ball on those lines.”

“And then I played with Ariya. I’m always happy to play with Ariya because she’s so nice, and I played with Julia today. She’s so sweet.”

“Thanks to them for making me feel comfortable.”

Olympic bronze medalist Shanshan Feng, China, and rookie Annie Park, from the USA share second place at -7 under par following their opening rounds of 64.

Annie Park said she decided to make the switch from PING’s i-IRONS to i-BLADES after missing the cut in her last three starts;

“Maybe changing the irons and knowing my yardages was probably a huge key for me.”

“I mean, I had some pretty good putts out there. I had some good strokes.”

“It feels great. I love it. I mean, I didn’t know my yardages coming in so I had to figure that out in the practice rounds.”

“Good thing I figured that out with my rep, and then it was a good, yeah, it is good.”

Wind direction caused some confusion for Shanshan;

“I mean, started the round okay. I mean, actually the wind direction was totally different to what the forecast was telling us.”

“So the first three holes didn’t hit any greens.”

“After that, you know, I figured the wind was actually from another direction. Then after I adjusted that I started to make a lot of birdies.”

World number one Lydia Ko, from New Zealand, made a slow start to the championship, carding -1 under par 70;

“It was tricky for me because on the back nine I wasn’t hitting fairways. I was making up and downs.”

“It was a good thing my wedge shots or chip shots were good enough where I was able to get off with par.”

Leave a Reply

