The Evian Championship. In Gee Chun Leads at Half-Way.

White Dragon Golf

In Gee Chun leads The Evian Championship by two strokes at the half-way point of the Major competition.

The Evian Championship

In Gee Chun / getty

KOR In Gee pulled away from the crowd in the second round of The Evian Championship carding a -5 under par 66 for a championship total of -13 under par, which gives her a two-stroke advantage going into the week-end. That score is also  the lowest 36-hole score in the four-year history of this event, which was classified as a Major in 2013.

In Gee likes the pressure of being in front;

“I like pressure. I remember like play before. Always play really good under pressure so just enjoy everything.”

Tied in second place at -11 under par are Shanshan Feng, -4 under 67 today, and Sung Hyun Park who scored -3 under par 68.

Sung Hyun Park said her experience gives her confidence, and she also enjoys the pressure;

“I’m not greedy to get the title, but I’m comfortable.”

“I’ve won five times and I’ve got a lot of people and experiences so that I can embrace the different environments. That’s why I played well.”

“There is no easy shot here. Tee shots, putting, second shot, everything, so I’ve got a headache.”

 “I like a difficult course like this. I like a challenge.”

Shanshan was tired after today’s long walk on soft fairways;

“The course played a little longer today, and we had some kind of pretty long holes.”

“Especially I think the 4th and 5th were playing pretty long today.”

“And for me, I actually started to feel a little bit tired on the back nine. I think it was because of the walk, and the ground is soft.”

World #1 Lydia Ko improved her position today with a -3 under par 68, she is currently T13 at -4 under for the competition.

Lydia wants the  Rolex ANNIKA Major Award, and at the start of play was leading, but would like a win here to be certain;

“It would mean so much, especially having Annika’s name, and what she’s done for the women’s game, what she’s still doing for our Tour and for the LPGA.”

“I think without players like her, there might not be a Tour like it is today.”

Leave a Reply

