Italian Open Has An Italian Winner, Francesco Molinari.

 

White Dragon Golf

Francesco Molinari won the Italian Open, making history by becoming the first Italian to win his national Open twice.

Italian Open

Francesco Molinari / getty

Frankie shot a final round -6 under par 65 at Golf Club Milano, to win the Italian Open with a -22 under par total;

“It’s been a roller-coaster, it’s amazing to see this amount of people out here supporting me.”

“I had the ideal start, I couldn’t start any better.”

“When I birdied 12 I got four shots clear and thought maybe I could relax a bit and I got punished straight away.”

“Coming in I had nothing left, I was just playing with my soul.”

“I was hitting horrible shots but somehow I managed to bring it in.”

Chasing Frankie all the way was Major winner and Ryder Cup man, from England, Danny Willett, he came second just one shot adrift at -21 under par, following his last round -5 under 66;

“It was good, it’s obviously disappointing to lose by one but Frankie came flying out the blocks and made it very difficult for me to catch him.”

“I managed to make it really interesting with the birdie on 13 and the eagle on 14 and at that point I thought I had a chance.”

“But I hit a couple of loose shots on the way in, and fair play to Frankie because he played some great golf under unbelievable pressure.”

“I’ve shot a 66 on the final day and finished on 21 under, so I can’t be too hard on myself because there’s not much more I could’ve done.”

“Sometimes you just have to hold your hands up and admit you got beat by the better player on the day.”

“If you finish a golf tournament 21 under par and you lose, I don’t think you can be too disheartened about it.”

“Against Frankie in Italy is tough, I’m sure it’s going to be 100 times worse when we get to the Ryder Cup in America, but it’s been a little bit of a taster.”

“It’s been good to play under that pressure and be under the gun and be in contention.”

Sharing third place at -18 under par were Elvira Nacho, from Spain, -6 under 65 today, and Chris Paisley from England who had a -3 under par 68 last round.

Leave a Reply

