The Evian Championship. In Gee Easily Wins.

 

White Dragon Golf

A history making -21 under par Major score sees In Gee Chun, from South Korea, easily win The Evian Championship in France.

The Evian Championship

In Gee Chun / getty

In Gee shot a final round -2 under par 69 to take The Evian Championship trophy, just cruising from beginning to end;

“I just cannot believe I won the Evian Championship. I made 21-under-par. I’m not dreaming, right?”

“I had a really great time this week. Most people say golf is an individual sport, but I believe it is a team sport.”

“My manager, my caddie, my coach and I as a team, prepared for this game and played this game. I love my team.”

“I know minus 19 under par is tied record before the final round.”

“It was more pressure for me, but I tried to think about it as a really good experience.  I tried to more enjoy it.”

“I don’t know because I feel like I’m dreaming now. Without nerves, I feel bored. Nothing, bored.”

“I had a lot of pressure on the course, but I much enjoyed my game. I tried my best to keep to my game plan possibly, I think so I might win this time.”

South Korea took the top three places as So Yeon Ryu, -5 under par 66 today, and Sung Hyun Park, -2 under 69, tied in second place at -17 under par.

Shanshan Feng, from China finished in fourth place, at -15 under par, she also had a final round -2 under par 69.

World #1 Lydia Ko finished with another poor round +2 over 73, but eased the pain of this performance by capturing the Rolex Annika Major Award.

Rolex Annika Major Award

Lydia & Annika / getty

“It means a lot, especially because coming into this year my goal was to be more consistent in majors, and this exactly is the award for that, and obviously you need a win to have that, and just to have it named after Annika and how successful she’s been in majors and just in general and what she’s done for the game, I think there might not be some of us if it wasn’t for a player like her.”

“It’s something that I could have only really dreamt of and imagined of, and for it to be true in a few moments I think is going to be awesome, and especially for me to stand alongside a legend like Annika.”

Leave a Reply

