Ladies Spanish Open. Amelia Lewis Leads

White Dragon Golf

Amelia Lewis, from the USA, leads the Ladies Spanish Open after the first round at  Aloha Golf Club in Spain.

Spanish Open

Amelia Lewis / getty

Amelia carded a first round -4 under par 68 in the Ladies Spanish Open, to lead the tournament by just one shot in a hot and sunny Marbella.

Amelia said poor driving was compensated by good putting;

“I was off the fairway on pretty much all my birdie holes and stuck it close and made the putts.”

This location is gorgeous. It’s so beautiful with the water and the people are nice.”

“It’s like a little holiday for my brother and me. We’re just enjoying it. I love Europe in general.”

“I love the tour and the people and have a lot of good friends out here. I just love travelling and seeing new places.”

“I had a good practice session last week at Evian. All week I just practiced so I was eager to get out there and play a score.”

Florentyna Parker and Rosie Davies are tied in second place, one shot back at -3 under par following their opening rounds of 69.

Rosie has made two cuts from four starts in this her rookie year as a professional on the Ladies European Tour;

“I played pretty well today. I struck the ball well. I took my chances when they came. I left a few shots out there.”

“I had a few short birdie putts which I wanted to make but obviously you can’t make them all.”

“I really stuck to my game plan of hitting it to the widest part of the fairway and attacking the pins.”

“The greens are really slopey and you need to position yourself on the green, so I was hitting it to the right parts of the green and giving myself birdie opportunities”

Azahara Muñoz and amateur player Maria Parra are the best placed local players, both ladies are on level par 72 for the competition.

Leave a Reply

