Porsche European Open. Bernd Wiesberger Leads Suspended 1st Round

 

White Dragon GolfPorche European Open

Bernd Wiesberger leads the suspended 1st round of the Porsche European Open at Golf Resort Bad Griesbach in Germany.

Porsche European Open

Bernd Wiesberger / getty

Bernd made a great start to the Porsche European Open for the second year in a row, -8 under par 63, to complete his first round, which was delayed because of early morning fog.

Last year he also started well, and then missed the cut, this year he hopes to continue with the good putting;

“I started 64 last year so I desperately wanted to hole that putt at the last today so there weren’t too many memories of last year’s round.”

 “I’m thinking more of what happened today, keep pushing and playing the game I played today.”

“What happened a year ago, it was a weird week and I know I’m not going to repeat that tomorrow.”

“Obviously I played alright, had a couple of shots that cost me believe it or not. I hit it out of bounds on the first hole after I made a good turn, struggled a little bit.”

“But I hit a lot of good shots, a lot of good putts and I’m happy with how I played today. It was a lot of red on the card, I don’t think I’ve had that kind of round before.”

Renato Paratore is in second place, he has also completed his first round, two shots back at -6 under par after his -6 under par 65.

Renato was also happy with his round and his putting;

“Today was a really good day, I started really nicely, two under after four holes.”

“Then I made one double-bogey but after that I played really well, especially with the putter.”

“On this course you have a lot of opportunities, but you have to play straight from the tee because it can be a tricky course.”

Lucas Bjerregaard, Daniel Im and Steve Webster all share third place at -5 under par following their completed opening rounds of 66.

Some players have not even completed their first nine holes, so will be back early tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

