Tour Championship. Three Way Tie at the Top.

White Dragon GolfTOUR Championship

There is a three-way tie at the top of the Tour Championship leaderboard at the end of round one at East Lake Golf ClubDustin Johnson, Kevin Chappell and Hideki Matsuyama all shot opening rounds of 66.

Despite this being his first trip to East Lake, Kevin Chappell fired an opening round 66 and sits in a three-way tie for the lead. (Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

Kevin Chappell / getty

Kevin, Dustin and Hideki have a one shot lead at the top of the Tour Championship leaderboard on day one at -4 under par.

Kevin could only play nine practice holes on Tuesday, because it was too hot;

“Why don’t we just treat it like it’s a normal week, I’ll play my pro-am tomorrow, and so I did that.”

“Today I had really good ball control, I think you can play anywhere with that.”

“I need to play 72 holes like I played the front nine here,  probably not take my foot off the gas like it appeared on the back.”

“I felt like I gave myself a lot of good opportunities. The ball didn’t go in the hole.

“But I felt like I stuck to my process and did everything right.” 

Dustin said he had played well at the last two tournaments

“I just hit the ball really well at both of those.”

 “They were tough golf courses. This one, they’re kind of similar as far as toughness-wise.”

“You’ve got to hit it really well around here.”

“I felt like I was really relaxed out there today, I’ve got a lot of confidence in the game right now.”

“So I’m looking forward to this week and seeing how good I can play.”

Tied in fourth place at -3 under par, after rounds of 67 are Kevin Kisner, Si Woo Kim and World number one Jason Day, who has a niggling back injury.

In the next group at -2 under are Rory McIlroy, Justin Thomas, Paul Casey and Jordan Spieth.

Rory was happy to be where he is;

 “I like being in the position after Saturday of last year, being in the last group.”

“That’s obviously the position we want to be in.”

“It’s easy to sort of remind yourself there’s such a long way to go; 72-hole tournaments are long.”

“A lot of things can happen. A lot of holes to play.”

“I was four over through three when I won in Boston a couple of weeks ago.”

Jordan mentioned that win by Rory;

“I look at what Rory did at Deutsche Bank.”

 “He was three over through four holes and ends up winning by a couple of shots at 18 under.”

“I feel if I play really solid golf here,  and it doesn’t have to be perfect golf, I can shoot 8 under on this golf course. I have no doubt.”

“It fits me really well. I feel like I have an advantage here. I knew if we could get it back to even par and in the red for the day after the first two holes, that would be really special and we’d still have a chance to win.”

Leave a Reply

