Ladies Spanish Open. Azahara Munoz Leads at Home.

White Dragon Golf

Azahara Munoz leads her home tournament, the Ladies Spanish Open, at  Aloha Golf Club in Marbella, Spain.

Ladies Spanish Open

Azahara Munoz / getty

Azahara shot -6 under par 66 in the second round of the Ladies Spanish Open to lead the tournament on that score, by just one shot.

Azahara converted some nice putts, coupled with good ball striking;

“It was really nice. I had a pretty strong start and birdied five of the first seven holes.”

 “I holed some really nice putts and started to hit the ball much better.”

“Yesterday was a bit of a struggle but today I think I hit 10 fairways and 16 greens so my day was much more stress-free and it was nice to finish with a couple of birdies as well.”

Pamela Pretswell is one shot back at -5 under par, she carded -5 under 67 today after an even par first round;

“I had five birdies so I was putting it closer and taking advantage of that.”

“I’ve only used driver three times in the last two days so I’ve been hitting a lot of three woods off the tee to get my rhythm.”

“I’m not one of the ones that likes to hit driver everywhere. I’m happy to mix it up with whatever I need to hit off the tee to just get myself into a good position.”

Beth Allen had -4 under 68 today, which puts her in third place on that score, and is happy with that;

“I’m happy with it. I’ve done well in this event before and I feel really comfortable here and it kind of reminds me of California so I feel I have a chance.”

Leave a Reply

