Ladies Spanish Open. Beth Allen Leads

White Dragon Golf

American Beth Allen leads the Ladies Spanish Open, after 54 holes at  Aloha Golf Club in Marbella, Spain.

Ladies Spanish Open

Beth Allen / getty

Beth made birdie on the final hole today to post a Ladies Spanish Open third round of -5 under 67 to lead by one shot with a -9 under par total.

Beth loves the climate here, it reminds her of home;

“It was a little bit of a slow start but I was happy with my back nine: 31 is always a nice score coming in.”

 “I reached the 10th, which was handy and then two putts for birdie and I hit a really good shot in on the 11th and holed that and 12th is a tough hole so I was happy with a par.”

“I particularly like this area and it does really remind me of southern California, where I’m from, so I love it.”

Local favorite Azahara Munoz holds second place, a third round -2 under 70 keeping her just one shot back at -8 under, saying she had trouble with her putting today;

“I gave myself quite a few chances and couldn’t make enough putts today.”

“I just couldn’t get the speed of the greens and get my ball to the hole. I also made a few par putts that kept me going, five, six footers, so I’m only one back.”

“I wish I was leading but one stroke’s nothing with 18 holes to go.”

Diana Luna, Italy and Sophie Walker, England,  are up to joint third on 4-under after rounds of 69 and 71.

Diana played with a bit of pain from a frozen neck;

“Sometimes they say beware of the sick golfer and I was less concerned with my scores than the other days and it worked out better.”

Sophie had to work hard today;

“It was up and down on the front nine with a few birdies and a few bogeys.”

“I started with two birdies and then went back to level and birdied six, and then after that it was steady pars.”

“I had to work a little bit harder today and get up and down a few more times.”

Leave a Reply

