Ladies Spanish Open. Home Win For Azahara.

White Dragon Golf

Azahara Munoz made history becoming the first Spanish ladies player to win their home tournament, the Ladies Spanish Open, at Aloha Golf Club in Marbella, which in fact is about a ten minute drive form her hometown.

Ladies Spanish Open

Azahara Munoz / getty

Azahara sunk a birdie putt on the last hole of the Ladies Spanish Open to win the title by one shot at -10 under par, after her last round -2 under par 70;

The tears that flowed emphasized how important this win was for her;

“It means everything. I love playing at home and finally we got this tournament back and hopefully for many more years.”

“To be able to play here and just sleep at home, it’s amazing.”

“It’s been a hard week and at the beginning of the week I was so stressed out and so anxious and finally, when I got to the first tee on Thursday, I felt so much better.”

“It is amazing to win in front of everybody and so many people came out, so I’m really grateful to them.”

“I had so many opportunities and I hit so many putts that didn’t go in, but I kept telling myself, if I keep patient, it might happen and if I lose it, then it definitely won’t happen.”

“I kept it together and finally I made such a good putt on the 17th and it’s funny because I had a similar putt that I made in Chantaco a few years ago and I thought about it and told myself, ‘You made this one before,’ and I did.”

Beth Allen claimed second place at -9 under par, a last round of even par 72 not good enough to seriously challenge for the win;

“Obviously I’m super disappointed, especially having had a three shot lead going into the back nine.”

“I just didn’t play very well on the back nine and she did, so it’s fine. It’s second but it’s not the outcome I wanted.”

Sophie Walker, -1 under 71 today, holed her second shot for eagle, on the 18th, from 138 yards using a ‘little’ 7-iron to jump up the leaderboard, into a share of third place with Georgia Hall,-4 under 68, both with -5 under totals.

Leave a Reply

