Porsche European Open. Alex Levy Wins, In A Play-off.

White Dragon Golf

Alex Levy wins the fog bound Porsche European Open, in a play-off against Ross Fisher, in Germany.

Porsche European Open

Alex Levy / getty

Alex birdied the second extra hole to win the Porsche European Open, after finishing the 54 hole tournament tied at the top of the leaderboard with Ross Fisher.

Alex had a -2 under par 69 last round, to post -19 under par 54 hole total while Ross put together a -7 under 64 to make up the four shot difference between them at the start of play. Alex was very happy with his final putt, and the long awaited win.

“It’s unbelievable, on the 18th putt I saw the line and I said to my caddy, ‘I’ve got it’. I felt good, I felt the speed and I putted it very quickly.”

“It’s too good to have this feeling after two years of no wins, it’s very nice.”

“It’s tough to say that it’s the best one.”

“I have a very nice feeling and I worked a lot the last few weeks to have this one.”

“I was close last week but didn’t play good on Sunday and this week I managed my things to have this trophy in my hands.”

“I didn’t play really good on the front nine. I was thinking about the score and not on my own game. I stayed patient and I started to play really good on the back nine.”

Ross was generous in defeat congratulating Alex on his win;

“Hats off to Alex, it’s always going to be tough against a great player like him who closed out in Portugal very well.”

“He got off to a little shaky start so myself and Michael [Jonzon] just needed to put some pressure on Alex from the start.”

“I felt like I played pretty flawless on the front side, kept it going on the back. All you can do is hit good putts, I didn’t leave one short today which is a positive sign.”

Robert Karlsson, -6 under 65 today, and Michael Jonzon , -3 under 68, finished three shots out of the play-off at -16 under, tied in third place.

Leave a Reply

