Tour Championship. Rory Wins In A Play-Off.

White Dragon Golf FedExCup

Rory McIlroy wins the Tour Championship trophy and with it the FedExCup at East Lake Golf Club.

Rory McIlroy came from three shots back to win the TOUR Championship and the FedExCup at East Lake. (Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)

Rory carded a final round -6 under par 64 to get into a Tour Championship play-off against Ryan Moore, -6 under 64 today and Kevin Chappell who scored -4 under 66 in the last round. They all finished with -12 under par totals, and the play-off commenced.

1st play-off hole was the par five 18th, which Rory and Ryan both birdied, and Kevin dropped out with a par. They both carded par 5 the second time around. The duel then moved to the par three 16th, which they both scored par. The fourth play-off hole was the par four 16th, which Rory birdied to win the tournament, and the FedExCup.

Rory’s road to the play-off began when he made Eagle two at the par four 16th, pitching in from 137 yards;

“I knew I was right back in the golf tournament.”

“Just to see that ball drop, and everything that’s come together for me this year,  to pull it off was really special.”

“I’ve made it no secret that it’s one of the last things I feel like I had left on my golf CV, and I made it a big goal of mine to win it.”

 “To be here and to win the FedExCup, to play the way I have in the last few weeks to get it done, is very special.”

Ryan made sure Rory had to work hard for his victory;

“I just wanted to make him earn it for that much money at least.”

 “I wanted him to make the putt. It was nice to get up and make it, but you give a great player like him that many opportunities, and he’s going to make one eventually.”

Kevin was the in form player coming into this tournament, and was left wondering what he has to do to win. This tournament  was the fourth time this season he had been runner-up. Losing twice to Jason Day, the No. 1 player in the world, and once to Rory McIlroy. In those final rounds, Kevin’s scores had been 67, 69, 69 and 66.

“I’m proud of the way I fought, it just wasn’t enough.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

