British Masters. Four-Way Tie at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There is a four-way tie at the top of the British Masters after the first round at The Grove in EnglandTommy FleetwoodRichard SterneMarc Warren and Mikko Ilonen all recorded first rounds of -5 under par 66.

British Masters

Tommy Fleetwood / getty

Tommy said putting was the key to his great bogey free round;

“It was just one of those days where every putt I hit felt lovely and overall, five under is a great score out there.”

“The wind was up this afternoon and then it got cold later on in the day, but definitely when we first went out, it was clear that it was going to be quite a tough day.” 

“You have to make the most of your chances. I hit it really well. I very rarely hit it out of position and putted lovely.”

Richard said it was his best performance of the year;

“I played probably the best tee-to-green I have done all year really.”

“I had so many chances and it was just good to feel that control over the ball.”

Marc has secured his card for next year, and just enjoyed his golf today;

“I wasn’t really under too much stress at any time during the round, so it was a really enjoyable round of golf.”

“It’s tough when you’re in that sort of situation when you’re trying to secure your playing rights and everything else.”

“I felt as if I handled that quite well last week and gave myself a nice boost of confidence after a pretty tough summer. So I’ve carried that confidence into today and hopefully the next three days, as well.”

Mikko was happy to make two birdies towards the end of his round;

“It was a perfect start. I played some of my best golf on the front nine.”

“I sort of lost my rhythm a little bit there halfway through, but came back strongly and made two birdies at 16 and 18, which was nice.”

 

Leave a Reply

