LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship. Alison Lee Leads.

 

White Dragon Golf

Alison Lee leads the LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship at Sky 72 Golf Club Ocean Course in South Korea.

LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship

Alison Lee / getty

Alison opened the LPGA KEB Hana Bank Championship with a -7 under par 65 to sit on top of the leaderboard.

Alison said it was good putting that helped her today;

“I gave myself a lot of chances at birdie. Putting was definitely one of my strengths today.”

“It’s definitely what helped me shoot 7-under. I made have a lot of good birdie putts. I think I only missed one or two putts inside 15 feet.”

Alison has suffered with injury this year, undergoing physical therapy to cope with a torn labrum in her left shoulder;

“It definitely, it hurt a lot, a huge portion of my mental game. I was struggling a lot on the golf course not only because of my injury, but because I was scared.”

“I was scared of the ball. I didn’t know where it was going to go.”

 “But I am very happy with where my game is now. Top 10 last week, and past couple months I’ve been playing a lot better and being on the leaderboards.”

“Definitely happy with where my game is now.”

Five ladies are tied in second place, three shots back at -4 under par,  Anna Nordqvist, Jeong Min Cho, Karine Icher, In-Kyung Kim and Lizette Salas.

Of course the big story in South Korea this week is the retirement of home favorite  Se Ri Pak, she told reporters;

“This morning I did a practice round and I was on the tee box and didn’t really hit me that this was my final round.”

“But then I saw the gallery and all the people had scarves my name on it. A lot of them came out for me, and during the game they told me what a good job I was doing and good job I did.”

 “That’s when it all really hit me that this was going to be my final round.”

“I feel that the way they were supporting me was different kind of. Before they were supporting me as a competitor in this game. It felt kind of different.”

“So I will have to say that during the game it was an emotional roller coaster for me.”

World number one #Lydia Ko is still in the doldrums shooting +3 over par 75.

Leave a Reply

