Safeway Open. Round 2 Wrecked by Weather, Suspended.

White Dragon Golf

Round 2 of the Safeway Open was wrecked by awful overnight weather, delaying the start, which meant the round had to be suspended due to darkness, with, many players still to finish their second rounds at Silverado Resort in California, with Scott Piercy still leading.

Scott Piercy only got through 12 holes of his second round before play was suspended at the Safeway Open. (Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

Scott Piercy / getty

Scott was still on top of the leaderboard at -14 under par for the Safeway Open, after 12 holes of his second round, before play was suspended for the day.

Scott has a two shot lead at the moment, and said he knew what he wanted to achieve today;

“In my mind, I wanted to shoot 3 under on the front, and luckily, I was able to do that.”

“I don’t have as much fun on the course as I normally should, being in the lead right now or close to, I’m trying to enjoy it.”

“I would have liked to have gone one or two more birdies.”

“I felt like it was there to get. I hit some good shots. Hopefully just continue, get a few more tomorrow and keep pushing forward.”

Johnson Wagner holds second place, at -12 under par, after completing 14 second round holes.

Paul Casey at -11 under through 12 holes is alone in third place.

Surprise package Bill Haas, was Tiger Woods  replacement for the final spot in the threesome that included Phil Mickelson and defending champion Emiliano Grillo.

Bill is currently T4 at -8 under par with a completed second round of -2 under par 70 and joked about his position;

“I think they just wanted to put an equal player in the place of Tiger.”

“I don’t know how that worked out and how I got substituted in there, but I’m happy they would choose me to be in the group.”

Phil carded another -3 under 69 today to be at -6 under, and said he is playing some of his best stuff right now;

“This is some of the best iron play I’ve ever had.”

“Given the challenge that we’ve had judging distance because the ball’s going about 10 to 15 yards less than normal distance, then you’ve got a little bit of wind, a little bit of rain and soft spongy greens, some of my best iron play.”

Defending champion Emiliano Grillo was -2 under 70 today, to be T 19 at -5 under par for the tournament.

 

Leave a Reply

