Xiamen International Ladies Open. Teenager Yuting Shi In Control.

White Dragon Golf

Chinese teenager Yuting Shi is still in control of the  Xiamen International Ladies Open at  Orient Golf & Country Club in China.

Xiamen International Ladies Open

Yuting Shi / getty

Yuting put together a second round -4 under par 68, to extend her lead in the  Xiamen International Ladies Open to three shots, with a -11 under par total;

Yuting thought today’s round was better than yesterday, because of the conditions, and putting was the best part of her game;

“I feel as though my score today, 68, is better than the 65 in the first round because the wind was much stronger and the course was more difficult.”

“The front nine is easier and I made three of my four birdies on the par fives.”

“Putting is the best part of my game.”

“On the back nine, the pin positions are more difficult and the holes are longer.”

Anne Van Dam from Holland, is in second place, her second round of -6 under par 66 giving her a -8 under par total, with her driving helping a lot;

“The course is more open and for me, with my driving, it’s great.”

 “I hit a lot of drivers and with this heat, I’m hitting it really far so on some holes I’m only 40 or 50 meters in front of the green and I’ve been taking advantage of that the last two days.”

Pannarat Thanapolboonyaras, of Thailand holds third place at -7 under par, a second round -3 under par 69 giving her that position on her own.

Elina Nummenpaa, from Norway, -1 under 71 today,  Maha Haddioui, Morocco, -4 under 68 and Thailand’s Ajira Nualraksa, -3 under 69 are tied in fourth position at -6 under par.

Maha likes this course, which has similar conditions that she is accustomed to;

“I think it’s a pretty straightforward and fair course. If you hit a good shot then you’re pretty sure to be in a good position.”

“The grass is similar to what I’m used to in Morocco but also when I used to be in Florida.”

“It’s the same type of grass, same type of course.”

Leave a Reply

