Xiamen International Ladies Open. Two Tied at the Top

White Dragon Golf

There are two ladies tied at the top of the Xiamen International Ladies Open after 54 holes at Orient Golf & Country Club in China. Anne Van Dam has caught teenager Yuting Shi at the summit.

 Xiamen International Ladies Open

Anne Van Dam / getty

Anne, from Holland, carded a third round -5 under par 67 to catch Chinese teenager Yuting Shi, -2 under 70 today, at the top of the  Xiamen International Ladies Open leaderboard.

Anne, who is striving for her first L.E.T. win, thinks she is finally over the jet lag, getting a birdie on the par five 12th, which she had bogeyed in the first two rounds, and her putter came alive;

“Perhaps I’m over the jet lag.”

“On 12, I hit it twice in the water on day one and day two and I just took my driver again and it was a good one.”

“I hit it on the green with my second shot and I had two good putts. The first almost went in for eagle, so that was a very easy birdie.”

“On 13, I hit my wedge to four or five meters and holed a good downhill putt.”

On 14, I was 40 meters away from the pin and had a good pitch, expected it to go closer, but it was around one and a half meters and I holed that.”

“Any kind of pressure is something. I wouldn’t say it’s the same, but it’s definitely an advantage.”

“I thought I would be nervous today but I walked to the first tee and was pretty relaxed. I made a birdie and from there I played quite well.”

“My game feels quite good and because of that I don’t need to be really nervous. I’m looking forward to playing tomorrow again.”

Yuting started the day with a three shot lead, but her irons were not so good today;

“My iron shots were not very good and the wind was quite changeable so I made some wrong club decisions.”

“I studied both my partners’ stats entering this round and found out that they made more birdies than me for the last two days.”

“So I knew that I needed to be patient for the whole round. I was happy that I did. Tomorrow, I have to get into a groove earlier.”

Pannarat Thanapolboonyaras, -4 under 69 today, is in third place on her own at -11 under par.

 Ajira Nualraksa -2 under 70 today is in fourth place alongside Liu Yan who carded a bogey free -7 under 65, both with -8 under par tournament totals.

 

Leave a Reply

