Safeway Open. Brendan Steele Captures Title.

White Dragon Golf

Brendan Steele captures the Safeway Open title at Silverado Resort & Spa in California.

After falling short in 2015, Brendan Steele returned to Napa for the start of the 2016-17 season and walked away victorious. (Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

Brendan Steele / getty

Brendan finished strong to card a final round -7 under par 65 and win the Safeway Open title with a -18 under par total, his second PGA Tour win.

Last year Brendan had led  wire-to-wire for 54 holes, only to collapse  in the last round, this year good putting was the difference;

“You don’t often get that chance in life to redeem yourself in the same way at the same place.”

“I think my putting coming down the stretch was really the most important thing and definitely some wedge play.”

“I’ve been working on some stuff with Dave Pelz that really helped me with the soft conditions taking spin off the ball and really controlling my numbers.”

“I’d be lying if I said that maybe I was only going to win once on Tour.”

“I felt like my game was really good and I put myself in position a lot but didn’t really execute coming down the stretch.”

“I thought maybe I’m destined to just have that one win and play a long career out here but not necessarily keep winning, so this one definitely feels really good.”

“You’ve got to really make something happen, especially when the conditions are soft.”

“I wanted to be aggressive and I didn’t want to just kind of coast in and just make sure that I had a decent week.”

Patton Kizzire was second, at -17 under par, his last round -2 under par 70 falling just short;

“It was intense, I didn’t finish it off. I’m really disappointed, but I played well. It’s a building block, for sure.”

Paul Casey, -3 under 69, Michael Kim, -5 under 67, Scott Piercy -2 under 70 and Johnson Wagner, -2 under 70, all finished tied in third place at -16 under par.

Paul was so close again;

“So close, isn’t it? I mean, I played great. I had another wonderful week.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

