Blue Bay LPGA. Minjee Lee Leads

White Dragon Golf

Minjee Lee leads after the first round of the Blue Bay LPGA in China.

Blue Bay LPGA

Minjee Lee / getty

Minjee put together a -7 under par 65 in the opening round of the Blue Bay LPGA, giving her a two shot lead over the field.

She only had a limited practice here, good putting helped her today;

“Well, I only had, I got nine holes practice yesterday, because we flew in yesterday.”

 “But no, I just took it one shot at a time and didn’t try to get ahead of myself. Just played my own game today and a lot of my putts dropped today.”

Jessica Korda and Sandra Gal share second place at -5 under, with their opening rounds of 67.

Sandra made an Eagle, on the par four second hole;

 “Yeah, it was my second hole, I had around, I think I had 89 yards to the pin and there was a little back stop so I played it to go a little long and come back and I had a perfect line and it just rolled in.”

“It’s just a nice start. To hit it close or even go in the hole, it just kind of jump starts your round and kind of gets you in a nice flow, which I then kept up for the rest of the day.”

“That was a nice eagle.”

Last weeks winner Carlota Ciganda, and Chella Choi are tied in fourth place at -4 under par.

Chella is happy that the course is easier to play this year;

“I played so well the first year, and last year is not good.”

“But this tournament, I like this golf course, because the shape is very good and condition is very good, but green is a little bit slow.”

“Last year, conditions are more harder because if I hit the green, always over. But this year, like if I hit the green, it stops, my ball.”

“It’s easier than last year. It’s more easier because last year very difficult.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

